- How CBCA Scheduling Actually Works
- Why There Is No Fixed Testing Calendar to Memorize
- The Course Comes First: Your Real Deadline
- What You Are Scheduling: Format, Length, and Passing Score
- Pick the Right Examination: ISO 22301 vs. NFPA 1600 vs. the Qualifying Exam
- Fees and Money Checkpoints Along the Timeline
- The Application Clock: Experience, Essays, and References
- A Domain-Sequenced Preparation Timeline
- Who Hires CBCA Holders and Why Timing Matters
- After You Pass: Renewal Dates and CEAP Cycles
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CBCA is issued by DRI International; you take the online Audit Examination after completing the audit course, not on a fixed calendar date.
- Passing the 100-question, 2 hour 30 minute exam at 75% or higher does not by itself confer certification.
- Confirm exam timing in your course-specific booking instructions; DRI's FAQ and course pages differ on whether the exam is taken on the final course day or...
- The published training-plus-application subtotal is $3,350: $2,950 for the course with first exam included, plus a $400 application.
How CBCA Scheduling Actually Works
Searching for "CBCA exam dates 2026" tends to produce a mental picture of a calendar with testing windows, registration cutoffs, and late-fee deadlines. For the Certified Business Continuity Auditor credential, that picture is mostly wrong. The credential is governed by DRI International (Disaster Recovery Institute International), and the Audit Examination is tied to a mandatory course rather than to a published quarterly window.
In practical terms, your "exam date" is the product of three decisions: which audit course session you register for, when you choose to sit the online examination after that course, and when you submit your certification application. This article walks through each of those, explains where the official sources are clear, and flags the places where you must confirm details directly with DRI instead of relying on a third-party summary.
Why There Is No Fixed Testing Calendar to Memorize
Many professional exams run through a third-party test center network with published windows. For the CBCA Audit Examination, no current Pearson VUE, PSI, Prometric, or other named external proctoring provider was verified. DRI administers the Audit Examination through its own online examination and account process. That has a few scheduling consequences:
- No test-center booking step. You are not hunting for an open seat at a physical location.
- Access follows course registration. Online exam access is connected to your course registration through your DRI account.
- Dates flow from course sessions. The meaningful calendar is the schedule of audit course offerings, not a list of exam windows.
What this article cannot give you is a list of specific 2026 calendar dates or blackout periods, because none are published in the reviewed official sources in a form that applies to every candidate. Anyone who hands you a precise "2026 testing window" table for this credential without citing a DRI page is guessing. For the broader question of what the credential demands, see our CBCA requirements guide.
The Course Comes First: Your Real Deadline
The single most important scheduling fact is sequencing. Completion of the Business Continuity Planning for Auditors course (the BCLE AUD route) is required before the Audit Examination. Current US courses run four full instructional days and award 32 Continuing Education Activity Points (CEAPs). The course can be taken without a previous DRI certification, so you do not need another DRI credential to begin.
Your effective deadline, then, is the course start date. Work backward from it:
- Choose your route. DRI offers an ISO 22301 course and an NFPA 1600 course at the same published price. Decide which standard fits your industry before you register.
- Register and set up your DRI account. Exam access runs through it.
- Attend all four instructional days. The course includes a hypothetical-company case study and practical auditing activities.
- Sit the Audit Examination according to your course-specific booking instructions.
What You Are Scheduling: Format, Length, and Passing Score
Before you pick a date, make sure you understand what the sitting involves. The examination facts that are verified:
| Element | What the official sources support |
|---|---|
| Examination | DRI Audit Examination (ISO 22301 route covered in this article) |
| Questions | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowed | 2 hours 30 minutes |
| Passing score | At least 75% (a required individual score, not an observed pass rate) |
| Delivery | Online, through DRI's examination/account process |
| Scored vs. unscored breakdown | Not publicly specified |
| Official domain weights | Not publicly verified |
Two clarifications prevent common misreadings. First, the exam is multiple choice. The course's case study and auditing activities are classroom exercises and must not be mistaken for a performance-based or essay exam. The five subject-matter essays belong to the separate professional certification application. Second, the 75% figure is a cut score you must reach, not a statistic about how many people pass. For the full explanation, read our CBCA passing score guide; for what the data does and does not show, see CBCA pass rate.
Details that could not be verified publicly include open-book or closed-book status, calculator permissions, detailed remote-proctoring rules, adaptive delivery, and any permitted-reference list. Do not borrow those rules from other exams with similar acronyms. Confirm them in your DRI materials before exam day.
Pick the Right Examination: ISO 22301 vs. NFPA 1600 vs. the Qualifying Exam
Date confusion often hides a version confusion. DRI's specialty-exam catalogue lists several exams, and picking the wrong one wastes both time and money.
- Audit Examination, ISO 22301 route. The catalogue labels it "2023 Audit Exam - ISO 22301." The current course references ISO 22301:2019. This is the exam this article and our CBCA practice tests target.
- Audit Examination, NFPA 1600 route. The course references the 2019 edition of NFPA 1600, and the exam is listed without a separate version year. Our preparation content is limited to the ISO 22301 route, so coverage of NFPA 1600 is not established.
- General DRI qualifying examination. A 2026 version exists, but it is a different exam and must not be substituted for the audit examination.
An ISO audit ADA-version listing also exists. The public listing does not establish a different time allowance, so if you need accommodations, contact DRI directly rather than assuming extra time.
Fees and Money Checkpoints Along the Timeline
Dates and dollars are linked, because each stage of the process triggers a payment. The published figures:
| Stage | Fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Course plus first exam attempt | $2,950 | Same price for BCLE AUD (ISO 22301) or BCLE AUD (NFPA 1600); first exam is included |
| Certification application | $400 | Separate from the course |
| Published subtotal | $3,350 | Calculated from the two fees; before renewal, travel, taxes, or discounts |
| Audit-exam retake | $250 | Applies if you need another attempt |
| Annual renewal | $225 | Ongoing maintenance |
DRI's FAQ advertises a 10% discount for NFPA and other professional-organization members, but it does not identify every qualifying organization or show a discounted checkout total. Confirm eligibility and the final amount before you pay. No separate member or nonmember exam-only price is published for this mandatory-course route. For a deeper breakdown, see the CBCA certification cost guide.
Key Takeaway
Because a retake costs $250, the cheapest scheduling decision is a patient one. Use a full set of independent practice questions, such as those on our practice test site, and sit the Audit Examination once your scores are consistently comfortable above 75%.
The Application Clock: Experience, Essays, and References
Passing the examination is not the finish line. DRI also reviews an experience-based application, and that process has its own time cost, which belongs in any realistic schedule. To obtain the CBCA designation, applicants need:
- At least two years of significant practical experience in business continuity, emergency/disaster management, and/or audit within the preceding ten years.
- Five subject-matter essays, at least two of which must come from DRI's specified application areas covering business impact analysis, continuity strategies, plan development and implementation, and exercise/test/assessment/maintenance.
- Two validating references per subject area, which may be the same two people across all five areas.
Certain existing professional designations can qualify for reference or experience-section waivers, but this is not a blanket waiver of the audit course, the exam, or the CBCA experience requirement. No degree requirement or fixed experience-hour threshold was found.
The practical advice: start lining up your references and drafting essay material while you are still in the course, because that is when the audit concepts are freshest. Many candidates treat the essays as an afterthought and then stall for weeks. Our requirements breakdown covers eligibility in more depth.
A Domain-Sequenced Preparation Timeline
DRI has not published weighted exam domains, so the sequence below is editorial. It uses eleven substantive headings from DRI's current ISO 22301 audit course outline as preparation topics, not as an official blueprint. It also assumes you are preparing before or alongside the course and then sitting the exam within a few weeks of finishing it. Adjust the pacing to your own booking instructions. Our domains guide explains each area in detail.
Foundations
- Auditing basics: audit types, evidence, objectivity, and the audit process from planning to reporting.
- Understanding ISO 22301: the standard's structure and intent. Note that the course page uses this heading, while the brochure says "Introduction to ISO22301"; it is one topic, not two.
Management system clauses
- Context of the organization: interested parties, scope, and what an auditor checks first.
- Leadership, planning, support, and operation: policy, roles, resources, and the operational controls an auditor samples.
Analysis and strategy
- Risk assessment and business impact analysis (BIA): learn what evidence shows these were done properly.
- Continuity strategies and solutions: how chosen strategies trace back to BIA outputs.
Plans, people, and proof
- Business continuity plans, education and training, and exercise program: audit what exists versus what was actually practiced.
- Audit findings, recommendations, and auditor's opinion: how to word findings and reach an opinion.
Timed rehearsal
- Take full 100-question sets against a 2 hour 30 minute clock.
- Review misses by topic, then sit the exam when results hold above 75%.
Why this order? The audit-oriented topics at the start give you the vocabulary that every later question assumes. The management-system clauses come before analysis topics because an auditor tests whether the organization's analysis connects to its policy and scope. Findings and opinion go last because they synthesize everything else. For additional tactics, see the CBCA study guide, and for a realistic sense of effort, how hard the exam is.
Who Hires CBCA Holders and Why Timing Matters
The CBCA credential speaks to organizations that must demonstrate their continuity programs actually work. That includes internal audit and risk teams, compliance functions, consultancies that perform continuity assessments, and organizations pursuing or maintaining alignment with ISO 22301. Roles that tend to benefit include business continuity managers, internal auditors with resilience responsibilities, and third-party assessors.
Timing matters because many of these roles are tied to audit cycles. If your organization is preparing for an external assessment, finishing the course and exam before that cycle starts positions you to lead rather than follow. We deliberately do not quote salary figures here, because none are verified in the sources behind this article. For discussion of earnings and return, see the salary guide, whether the certification is worth it, and the CBCA jobs overview.
After You Pass: Renewal Dates and CEAP Cycles
Your first meaningful post-exam date is the renewal clock. Two separate obligations run in parallel, and mixing them up is a common mistake:
- Annual financial maintenance: a $225 fee each year.
- Continuing education: 80 CEAPs over each two-year period, plus compliance with DRI's code of ethics.
The credential should not be described as an unconditional two-year certification. Because the course itself awards 32 CEAPs, completing it contributes toward your continuing-education requirement, but confirm how DRI credits points for your specific cycle. Putting both the annual fee date and your CEAP tally in your calendar the week you pass avoids a lapse later.
Frequently Asked Questions
No fixed calendar of testing windows was found in the reviewed official sources. The Audit Examination is administered online through DRI's account process and follows completion of the audit course, so your timeline is set by the course session you register for and the booking instructions DRI provides for it.
DRI's materials are inconsistent. Current course descriptions say the online examination is taken after the course at your convenience, while the Continuity Audit FAQ still says the final course day. Follow the course-specific booking instructions in your registration, and ask DRI to clarify if they are unclear.
The published audit-exam retake fee is $250. The reviewed sources did not specify a waiting period or attempt limit, so confirm retake policies with DRI before you plan a second sitting.
Not by itself. Passing the course examination does not confer professional certification. DRI also reviews an experience-based application that includes at least two years of qualifying experience in the preceding ten years, five subject-matter essays, and validating references. The application fee is $400.
No test-center provider was verified. DRI administers the Audit Examination through its own online examination process, and the sources reviewed did not confirm Pearson VUE, PSI, Prometric, or any other named proctoring provider. Check your DRI account for the exact delivery method.