- What the 75% Threshold Actually Means
- Passing Score vs. Pass Rate: Don't Confuse Them
- How the 100-Question Audit Examination Works
- Passing the Exam Is Not the Same as Being Certified
- What Missing 75% Costs You
- Building a Margin Above 75% by Topic
- What Is Not Publicly Specified About Scoring
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Score Target
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CBCA Audit Examination requires an individual score of at least 75%, not a published cohort pass rate.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and a 2-hour-30-minute time limit, administered online through DRI International.
- Passing the exam alone does not confer certification; DRI also reviews an experience-based application costing $400.
- An audit-exam retake costs $250, so a failed attempt is cheaper than the $2,950 course but still avoidable.
What the 75% Threshold Actually Means
The Certified Business Continuity Auditor (CBCA) is governed by DRI International, and the examination that gates it carries a required individual score of at least 75%. That is the entire public scoring rule: a candidate either reaches the threshold or does not. There is no published curve, no tiered result, and no distinction between a 76% and a 96% on the credential itself.
On a 100-question exam, 75% translates intuitively to 75 correct answers. That arithmetic is a reasonable planning assumption, but be careful about treating it as a guarantee. DRI's public materials do not break the 100 questions into scored and unscored items, so the exact mapping between raw correct answers and your final percentage is not something you can verify in advance. The safest approach is to plan for a comfortable cushion above the line rather than to aim for the minimum.
Passing Score vs. Pass Rate: Don't Confuse Them
Search results for credentials like this one tend to blur two different ideas. The passing score is the bar an individual must clear. The pass rate is the share of all candidates who clear it. For the Certified Business Continuity Auditor credential, the 75% figure is the former. A cohort pass rate is not disclosed in DRI's certification pages, specialty-exam listings, course descriptions, or FAQ materials.
That matters because training-provider marketing sometimes quotes general business-continuity pass rates. Those numbers are not CBCA cohort statistics, and you should not use them to calibrate your confidence. For a fuller look at what is and is not known, see our breakdown of the CBCA pass rate and what the data shows, and our assessment of how hard the CBCA exam really is.
| Term | What It Means for CBCA | Publicly Specified? |
|---|---|---|
| Passing score | At least 75% on the Audit Examination, per individual candidate | Yes |
| Pass rate | Share of candidates who pass | No |
| Scored vs. unscored items | How many of the 100 questions count | No |
| Domain weights | Percentage of questions per topic area | No |
How the 100-Question Audit Examination Works
The CBCA examination is a multiple-choice test of 100 questions with a time limit of 2 hours and 30 minutes. That works out to roughly 90 seconds per question, which is generous for recall questions but tighter for scenario-based items that ask you to evaluate a situation against an ISO 22301 requirement.
Delivery and scheduling
DRI International administers the Audit Examination through its own online examination and account process. No external proctoring vendor such as Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric was verified for this exam, so do not assume you will book a seat at a third-party test center. Current course descriptions state that the exam is taken online after the course, at the learner's convenience, while the FAQ still references the final course day. When the two disagree, follow the booking instructions for your specific course registration. For scheduling mechanics, our guide to CBCA exam dates and scheduling covers the details.
What the exam is not
The course includes a hypothetical-company case study and practical auditing activities, but those are classroom exercises. The exam itself is multiple choice. The five subject-matter essays belong to the professional certification application, not to the 100-question test. Keeping those two things separate prevents you from over-preparing for an essay format that does not appear on exam day.
Passing the Exam Is Not the Same as Being Certified
This is the single most misunderstood point about the credential. Reaching 75% proves you passed the Audit Examination; it does not make you a Certified Business Continuity Auditor. DRI also reviews an experience-based application, and certification follows only if that application is accepted.
What the CBCA Application Requires
Separate from the exam score, the application is where your professional background is evaluated.
- At least two years of significant practical experience in business continuity, emergency/disaster management, and/or audit within the preceding ten years
- Five subject-matter essays, with at least two drawn from DRI's specified application areas
- Two validating references per subject area, potentially the same two people across all five areas
- An application fee of $400, separate from the course and exam
Certain existing professional designations can qualify for waivers of reference or experience-section requirements, but this is not a blanket waiver of the audit course, the exam, or the CBCA experience requirement. No degree requirement and no fixed experience-hour threshold were found. For the full eligibility picture, read our guide to CBCA requirements and how to qualify.
Key Takeaway
Treat the 75% score as one gate of two. A strong exam result with an incomplete application leaves you holding a course completion, not the credential. Start gathering your essay material and references while you study.
What Missing 75% Costs You
The published US price for the course-and-exam bundle is $2,950, for either the BCLE AUD (ISO 22301) or BCLE AUD (NFPA 1600) route. The first exam attempt is included in that price. The certification application is a separate $400, which brings the published training-plus-application subtotal to $3,350 before renewal, travel, taxes, or discounts.
If you fall short of 75%, an audit-exam retake costs $250. That is a manageable figure compared with the course itself, but it still adds to your total and, more importantly, delays your application timeline. DRI's FAQ advertises a 10% discount for NFPA and other professional-organization members, but it does not identify every qualifying organization or show a discounted checkout total, so treat that discount as something to confirm before you count on it.
| Item | Published Amount |
|---|---|
| Course and first exam (BCLE AUD) | $2,950 |
| Certification application | $400 |
| Training-plus-application subtotal | $3,350 |
| Audit-exam retake | $250 |
| Annual renewal | $225 |
For the complete financial picture, including what the numbers do not include, see our CBCA certification cost breakdown.
Building a Margin Above 75% by Topic
Because DRI does not publish official domain weights, you cannot optimize your study by chasing the heaviest-weighted area. Instead, the eleven headings below come from DRI's current ISO 22301 audit-course outline. They are course preparation topics, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint, and any question counts in this article are editorial suggestions. Preparation here is limited to the ISO 22301 route; coverage of the separate NFPA 1600 route is not established.
Auditing basics
The foundation for everything else. You need to think like an auditor, not a planner.
- Audit objectives, evidence, and the difference between a finding and an observation
- How an audit program is structured and how auditor independence is maintained
Understanding ISO 22301
The course HTML heading reads "Understanding ISO 22301," while the linked brochure says "Introduction to ISO22301." That is a spelling difference, not an extra topic.
- The structure and intent of ISO 22301:2019, the version referenced by the current course
- How clauses map to audit criteria
Context of the organization
Auditors must verify that the management system reflects the organization's actual circumstances.
- Interested parties, scope definition, and how context drives the continuity program
Leadership, planning, support, and operation
A broad area covering management commitment through to operational controls.
- Evidence of top-management involvement, policy, roles, resources, and operational planning
Risk assessment
Know how to audit whether risk is identified and treated credibly.
- Risk identification, analysis, evaluation, and treatment as it relates to continuity
Business impact analysis (BIA)
Expect scenario questions on whether a BIA supports downstream decisions.
- Impact over time, prioritized activities, dependencies, and recovery time objectives
Continuity strategies and solutions
Auditors assess whether strategies actually match BIA results.
- Alignment between strategy selection, resource needs, and identified requirements
Business continuity plans
Focus on what a usable plan contains and how an auditor tests that claim.
- Plan content, invocation criteria, roles, communication, and recovery procedures
Education and training
Often under-studied because it feels simple.
- Awareness and competence evidence, and how training records support conformity
Exercise program
Auditors judge whether exercising is planned, performed, and acted upon.
- Exercise objectives, post-exercise reporting, and follow-up of lessons identified
Audit findings, recommendations, and auditor's opinion
The point where evidence becomes a conclusion.
- Writing defensible findings, distinguishing severity, and forming an overall opinion
Since no weights are public, a practical aim is to be at or above your target on every one of these rather than excellent in a few. Our companion piece on the 11 CBCA content areas expands each topic, and you can pressure-test yourself with questions on the main practice test site.
What Is Not Publicly Specified About Scoring
Honest preparation means knowing the edges of what you know. The following details are not available in the public DRI materials reviewed:
- Whether any of the 100 questions are unscored pretest items
- The percentage weighting of each domain or topic
- Whether scores are reported as a percentage, a scaled value, or pass/fail only
- The cohort pass rate
- A specific permitted-reference list or open-book policy
One further caution: the exam target here is the DRI Audit Examination for ISO 22301, not the general DRI Qualifying Examination. A 2026 general qualifying exam exists, but it is a separate test and should not be substituted when you study. The ISO route is labeled "2023 Audit Exam - ISO 22301" in DRI's specialty-exam catalogue, and a newer weighted blueprint was not found.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Score Target
Since the four-day course (32 CEAPs) comes before the exam, your preparation naturally splits into a pre-course and post-course phase. One short sequencing approach, tied to the topics above:
Frame the audit mindset
- Read ISO 22301:2019 clause headings so Auditing basics and Understanding ISO 22301 are familiar
- Start collecting application evidence, since essays and references take time
Core management-system clauses
- Context, leadership/planning/support/operation, and risk assessment, while course notes are fresh
The BIA-to-plan chain
- BIA, continuity strategies, and plans together, because audit questions test whether each links to the last
Assurance and conclusions
- Education and training, exercise program, and audit findings, recommendations, and opinion, followed by full timed practice
For a fuller plan, see our CBCA study guide, and for a quick refresher near test day, the CBCA cheat sheet. If you want an extra sense of whether the credential fits your goals once you are certified, consider our ROI analysis.
Key Takeaway
Run timed 100-question sets in 2 hours 30 minutes and aim to score clearly above 75% on every topic cluster. Consistent margin across all eleven areas protects you better than a strong showing in a few.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Certified Business Continuity Auditor Audit Examination requires an individual score of at least 75%. The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and a 2-hour-30-minute time limit, administered online through DRI International.
No. The 75% figure is the score an individual needs to pass. The share of candidates who pass is not publicly disclosed in DRI's official materials, so any pass-rate number you see elsewhere is not a verified CBCA cohort statistic.
No. Passing the exam alone does not confer certification. DRI also reviews an experience-based application, which requires practical experience, five subject-matter essays, and validating references, and carries a separate $400 fee.
You can retake the Audit Examination. The published retake fee is $250. The first attempt is included in the $2,950 course-and-exam price, so only subsequent attempts incur the additional charge.
DRI does not publicly verify domain names, percentages, or a largest domain for this examination. The eleven topics used for preparation come from the ISO 22301 audit-course outline and are not an official weighted blueprint, so study all of them evenly.
Reaching 75% is a clear, single number, but the path to it runs through eleven topics, an application, and several details DRI has not made public. Build your margin early, confirm the unspecified rules in your DRI account, and use the practice test site to rehearse the timed format before exam day.